I know this isn’t the regular film or TV review, but I saw my first stand-up show last night and I drew a lot of parallels between the two!

Russell Kane has been on tour this year all over the country, and not just in the iconic stadiums, in the very small, intimate venues in towns most have never heard of. So as a long time fan of the comedian and stand up in general, I was ecstatic to find out he was visiting a little corn exchange in a small town near me.

I knew someone else who had seen him in another venue a couple of weeks before, who told me someone from Texas was present, so when he was interacting with the audience, he obviously had a lot of Southern American jokes. So when it came to the “anyone in from overseas?!” part of the show, I was crossing my fingers, hoping someone from Texas didn’t pop up and ruin my perception of the witty improvisation I love so much. However, this did not happen, there wasn’t a planned man from Texas in the audience and I was thrilled! In fact there were no foreigners in the audience, typical of a rural town, so he made many very current and political jokes, unoffensive yet so truthful.

The first half of the show contained a lot of audience participation and improvisation, which worked well in such a small intimate venue, followed by some hilarious piss taking of the elderly lady guarding the door who worked there. We were all in stitches, his movements and energy were so fluid and relevant to the show.

The second half of the show was more of the planned comedy, mostly regarding his life now he is married and has a child, such as meeting the other half of the family, some small skits about his late father, and when he became a father himself. If you are familiar with Russell’s previous stand up shows, they usually follow the pattern of hilariousness, reliability and ends with a goosebump inducing, emotional, poignant story, which connects all the elements of the show together. This show was no different, and not in a repetitive way, in an inventive, hilarious, heartwarming way that is made more powerful from the live atmosphere of the gig.

I was in stitches throughout, my face hurt from laughing and I left feeling warmly emotional and satisfied with the evening, much like a film can make you feel! I would recommend Russell’s stand up to anyone, if he comes to a town near you, or if you see one of his DVDs or stand up shows on TV, I urge you to give it a go, as his witty, intelligent humour will blow you away I’m sure. I reward the show 4.5/5 stars ★★★★★

