This movie was advertised and promoted within an inch of it’s life so it is impossible not to have known of it’s presence.

I would outline the plot a little, but I am finding it hard as it didn’t seem to have much of one. From what resonated, a group of criminals and misfits who each hold their own form of power are brought together in order to fight for the greater good, well, defeat some demon witch type character played by model Cara Delavingne.

I must say that the cast of this film is incredible, Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Jared Leto to name a few. They each portray an interesting, exciting character with a well explained back story. This movie really is all about the characters. In all honesty, Margot Robbie playing Harley Quinn makes this film worth seeing. She adds the humour, the interesting story and the excellent lift that this film needs. Jared Leto as the Joker would also do this, however he doesn’t really get chance to as he seems to have been cut out of most of the film. This is a real shame, as even if they include his portrayal of the Joker on extended versions of a DVD, the cinema goers have missed out on what could have been an incredible performance.

I feel this movie was trying to mimic the vibe of Deadpool a bit too hard. I think that is why they cut out so much of the Joker’s story, as they didn’t want it to be too dark, as the lighthearted humour of Deadpool seemed to sell well. However I think they shot themselves in the foot with this decision, as it took away from the plot and a lot of hardcore, anticipating fans would have been disappointed.

I cannot be entirely negative about this film, as it is essentially an entertaining watch. But that is all, it’s not going to stay with you or get you excited about sequels or mind blowing plots.

One thing I cannot fault about this film is the soundtrack, which is absolutely epic. It fits perfectly with the film at exactly the right points, mixing old and new music of different genres, ranging from Eminem to Etta James. It really is excellent.

The special effects are also very convincing, which is expected in an action film of this caliber. It obviously has had a ridiculous amount of money thrown at it. The fight and action scenes are very well orchestrated, with elements of humour throughout.

I am trying not to put too much of a downer on this film, because I felt like I enjoyed it when I left the cinema, but on reflection, the plot is very poor and it is a real shame the Joker did not have more of a substantial role. I wouldn’t say it is a waste of time watching and it is a good film if you don’t fancy paying too much attention to a complex plot. But seriously, buy the soundtrack. I would reward this 3/5 stars. ★★★

 

